Where Trauma Meets Tragedy

“Full Trauma Now.” The words blare across the emergency department. There is a rush towards the trauma bay – stretchers, x-ray technicians, nurses, medical students, residents, attending physicians. We dress in our protective gear – plastic blue gowns, gray gloves, face masks, blue marshmallow hats. And we wait. “Have you heard the story?” One nurse whispers to another.

“It sounds bad…car vs. tree, I think, or maybe bike vs. tree, I’m not exactly sure…” She tilts her head up, as if trying to grasp the story from thin air.

One of the technicians pipes up, “GCS 4 in the field. Not intubated.”

A nearby resident raises an eyebrow, “Really? They haven’t intubated yet?” He gets his equipment ready – suction, tube, blade. Everything is in order.

And we wait.

Minutes go by.

A nervous, hushed wave of conversation ripples across the room. The hum of stretcher wheels fast approaches, or perhaps we are only imagining it. The air is thick with anticipation.

This is the trauma bay. The small, rectangular room where life meets death. But I have rarely seen a death here. Because we have become so skilled at keeping people alive, we are often able to stabilize patients for just enough time to whisk them away to the operating room or the intensive care unit. Even so, this is the room where a sudden life change is first realized, observed, and recorded. This is where it all begins. A bay – it is not a fitting term, really. Bright red airway bags, big computer screens, beeping monitors, life-saving carts, stretchers, fluorescent lighting. And there is no peace here. It is not a bay – more of an ocean, with unseen waves, trade winds, thunder, lightning strikes.

I have watched many patients meet their fate here. And yesterday, for one, the tears welled up. I know exactly how to hold them back – have become an expert, in fact, at letting them come just far enough to the brim of my lashes, so that if I smile it almost looks as though they are a twinkle and not a tear. Have I begun to feel again, after these years of blocking everything out? Perhaps. I was pleased to discover them – quite unexpected, I might add. Incredible that after all this time the tear ducts still function in the old, familiar way. A miracle, really.

As I watch this woman’s tragedy unfold in front of my eyes, I realize that she will not make it. I look at her, I look at the CT scan, and I know – with certainty. I no longer have the na├»ve hope of a medical student. I no longer need to look to my attending for confirmation. I almost wish I did. I glimpse the family at her bedside. Children, grandchildren, sister. I watch them weep. Their eyes are wide – too much hope, I think. I want to brace them for what lies ahead. But I know that would be impossible. A shock is not absorbed, or even felt, at first. It just is. It glares you in the face.

This is my last day as a second year resident. How the time has gone by. How much has changed. Children, grandchildren, sister. I watch them weep. And for a moment, I let myself remember what it feels like to be one of them. I, in my white coat, with too much knowledge for my own good. I, the doctor. No more or less powerful than they are, when it comes down to it. I put myself in their shoes. Slip them on my feet, feel the worn leather, tap them on the white floors, now splattered with blood. I watch them weep. And I feel something – not as much for her, but for them. For all the trials they will face in the coming hours, for all the tears they will shed, for their loss.

They loved her so much, didn’t they?

5 Responses to Where Trauma Meets Tragedy

  1. Ginger says:

    As a civilian, (non-medical personnel), I find it comforting to know that a doctor who has seen so much pain, suffering and loss isn’t completely shut off from his emotions.
    Although, being so in tune with the feelings of the patients you treat may seem out of place, it lets them know that you indeed care more about their health than the “game” of “what’s going on now?”.

  2. This is a beautiful post. I always hate that moment when I, as the doctor, know exactly what is going on, but the family isn’t yet aware. I hate being the one to deliver the bad news and to cause that shock that no one is ever prepared for. I agree – it’s always the family that I feel for the most, because they’re the ones who are left to deal with the usually inconceivable loss of a person they loved.

  3. I adore your blog. You sound like an awesome senior resident.
    I watched my first patient in her dying process on my third night on call and wrote a long post about it. I enjoy your writing very much.

  4. Pingback: Trauma Bay

  5. Peg Feodoroff says:

    What a wonderful, moving, human post. Hopefully you will let yourself “feel” more often, visualizing your patients’ and their families’ journeys. So wonderful to read your heart. Best of luck in your upcoming transitions.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

